Freshman Grace Maletich was named the 2016 CCAC Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year
Freshman Grace Maletich was named the 2016 CCAC Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year
Women's Cross Country - Mon, Nov. 14, 2016

CHICAGO – Boasting the 2016 Runner of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Coach of the Year plus four all-conference runners and eight all-academic team members, No. 17 ranked Saint Xavier University was well represented when the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) recently released its postseason women's cross country honors.  Junior Ellie Willging (Freeport, Ill./UIC/Freeport) was named the 2016 CCAC Runner of the Year, while freshman Grace Maletich (Woodridge, Ill./Downers Grove North) claimed the CCAC Newcomer of the Year award.  SXU head coach Lisa Ebel secured the CCAC Coach of the Year honor.  Willging won the CCAC Championship race on November 5 with a course record 5K (5,000 meters) time of 17:56.    

Representing the Cougars on the 2016 All-CCAC Women's Cross Country Team were Willging, senior Nicole Watkins (Bartlett, Ill./Bartlett), senior Nicole Maier (Burbank, Ill./Olivet Nazarene/Reavis) and junior Sierra Downey (Stickney, Ill./Morton College/Morton West).  Willging, Maier, and Downey also joined senior Courtney Correa (Homer Glen, Ill./Lockport Township), junior Alondra Delfin (Alsip, Ill./Shepard), junior Jocelyn Camacho (Summit, Ill./Argo Community), sophomore Deandra Stokes (South Holland, Ill./Thornton) and sophomore Jillian Siemiawski (Evergreen Park, Ill./Evergreen Park) on the conference's Women's Cross Country All-Academic Team.  To qualify for the CCAC All-Academic Team, an individual must have completed 30 semester hours at the nominating institution and hold at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average. 

Saint Xavier is preparing for the 2016 NAIA Women's Cross Country National Championships on Saturday, November 19 at the North Farm Cross Country Course in Elsah, Ill.  The women's race is scheduled for a 10:30 a.m. start.   

Click HERE to view the entire list of 2016 CCAC Women's Cross Country postseason award winners