Senior guard Brad Karp was one of just five players to be named to the 2013-14 All-CCAC First Team
Senior guard Brad Karp was one of just five players to be named to the 2013-14 All-CCAC First Team
Men's Basketball - Sat, Mar. 1, 2014

CHICAGO - Senior guard Brad Karp (Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso) claimed one of the five spots on the coveted first team as the Saint Xavier University men's basketball team had three of its players recognized on the 20-member all-conference squad when the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) released its postseason honors following Saturday's CCAC Tournament championship.  Senior point guard Michael Simpson (North Chicago, Ill./Cardinal Stritch/North Chicago) and junior guard Jack Krieger (Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield North) both landed on the five-player second team.  Both SXU and regular season champion and No. 1 ranked Cardinal Stritch University (Wis.) had three players earn all-conference honors.

Karp currently leads the Cougars in a number of statistical categories, including scoring (25.9 points per game), field goal percentage (.609), rebounding (8.2 rebounds per game) and steals (2.5 steals per game).  He was a seven-time CCAC Player of the Week selection this season and leads the conference in scoring.  Simpson has been a double threat all year for SXU averaging 16.2 points a game and dishing out a team-leading 5.2 assists per contest.  He has also averaged 2.2 steals a game.  Krieger has been a huge contributor as well to the Cougars' successes during the 2013-14 campaign posting averages of 15.9 points and 4.2 rebounds a game.  The CCAC Player of the Year honor went to Cardinal Stritch's senior guard Derek Semenas, while the conference's Freshman of the Year award was given to Trinity Christian guard Jared Jones.  The 2013-14 CCAC Coach of the Year was Cardinal Stritch head coach Drew Diener.
Saint Xavier (29-4 overall/16-3 CCAC) earned one of the conference's two automatic bids to the 2014 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship by winning Saturday's tournament championship over No. 1 Cardinal Stritch.  The 32-team national tournament kicks off on Wednesday, March 12, on the campus of the College of the Ozarks (Mo.) in Point Lookout, Mo.  The seedings and pairings for the national tournament are set to be released by the NAIA national office on Wednesday, March 5, via an online selection show that begins at 8 p.m. (central).

To see all the 2013-14 men's basketball postseason honors awarded by the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, please click here