Senior Shane Zackery - Finalist for the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Award
Senior Shane Zackery - Finalist for the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Award
Football - Mon, Dec. 3, 2012

NEW YORK – The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today that ESPN3 will be airing the Awards Dinner and Press Conference tomorrow (December 4) for the announcement of the 23rd winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.  Fans will be able to watch the induction of the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame class as well.  Senior wide receiver Shane Zackery (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic) is one of 15 finalists for the NFF Scholar-Athlete award.  The 15 honorees also comprise the list of finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.  Zackery was the only NAIA player represented in this year's class and will be awarded an $18,000 scholarship to assist with postgraduate studies on December 4 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The other 14 nominees for the award include University of Southern California quarterback Matt Barkley, Nebraska running back Rex Burkhead, Texas Tech safety Cody Davis, University of Mount Union (Ohio) safety Nick Driskill, Baylor quarterback Nick Florence, Northern Illinois defensive tackle Nabal Jefferson, Alabama center Barrett Jones, West Texas A&M offensive lineman Aaron Mullane, Syracuse quarterback Ryan Nassib, Robert Morris University (Pa.) defensive end Nolan Nearhoof, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) offensive lineman Ethan Peterson, Duke University quarterback Sean Renfree, University of Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o and Northwestern University offensive tackle Patrick Ward. 

Zackery, a business management major with an emphasis in marketing and finance, becomes the first student-athlete in the 20-year history of the Saint Xavier University football program to receive this distinction.   He carries a 3.709 cumulative grade-point average and was named a 2011 CoSIDA First Team Academic All-America in the college division as well as a 2011 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete.  Zackery also helped SXU win the 2011 NAIA Football National Championship finishing the game with nine receptions for 78 yards and a touchdown.  This season, Zackery leads the Cougars in receptions (80), receiving yards (1,122) and touchdowns (13).  He also has coordinated team activities for Saint Xavier's annual "Service Day" and volunteered his time to help host a free football clinic for underprivileged kids in conjunction with a local Salvation Army Community Center in Chicago.

The press conferences will begin at 9 a.m. (Eastern) and will conclude at 12 p.m. (Eastern).  The evening dinner ceremony starts at 8 p.m. (Eastern) and will continue until 10 p.m. (Eastern).  Click here for the link to the press conference ceremony and click here for the link to the evening dinner ceremony.