Senior QB Jimmy Coy - 2012 MSFA Mideast League Player of the Year
Senior QB Jimmy Coy - 2012 MSFA Mideast League Player of the Year
Football - Thu, Nov. 15, 2012

Findlay, Ohio - Highlighted by senior quarterback Jimmy Coy (Park Ridge, Ill./Valdosta State/El Camino/Maine South) receiving the 2012 Player of the Year recognition, the No. 4 ranked Saint Xavier University football team had 19 players earn spots on the 2012 Mid-States Football Association (MSFA) All-Mideast League Team when the league office released the honors Thursday morning.  SXU had 11 players earn first team selections, five second team honorees and three players received honorable mention recognition.  In addition, SXU head coach Mike Feminis was named the MSFA Mideast League Co-Coach of the Year, sharing the honor with University of Saint Francis (Ind.) coach Kevin Donley, and Saint Xavier University offensive coordinator Mark Yanule was named the MSFA Mideast League Assistant Coach of the Year.

"I always say that good players make a coach look good," said Feminis.  "To have 11 first team selections says a lot about the respect our players have throughout the Mid-States Football Association.  All of them are very deserving and for Jimmy to be named the Player of the Year is just icing on the cake.  Jimmy is obviously a special player and hopefully he'll lead us to another national championship."

Along with Coy, the other Cougars joining him on the first team were sophomore running back Nick Pesek (Oak Lawn, Ill./Oak Lawn Community), senior wide receiver Shane Zackery (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), senior offensive lineman Tyler Smith (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East) and senior offensive lineman Matt Munizzi (Chicago, Ill./St. Rita) on the offensive side.  The first team defensive selections were senior defensive linemen Jimmy Sandling (Manteno, Ill./University of Indianapolis/Manteno) and Ryan Miles (Crystal Lake, Ill./Crystal Lake South), junior linebacker Zach Dolph (Crest Hill, Ill./Joliet Catholic), senior linebacker Mike Bushnell (Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), senior defensive back Jeremy Rhodes (Alsip, Ill./Drake University/Brother Rice) and senior defensive back Jacob Ghinazzi (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic).

The SXU offensive players earning second team honors were senior wide receivers Wes Gastel (Freeport, Ill./Freeport) and Chase Catton (Washington, Ill./Washington) along with junior offensive lineman Tim Ladd (Chicago, Ill./St. Rita).  Second team defensive selections were junior linebacker Dave Marciano (Chicago, Ill./Eastern Illinois/St. Rita) and sophomore strong safety Clayton Fejedelem (Lemont, Ill./Lemont).  The three Cougars awarded honorable mention accolades were senior wide receiver Corey Wennmacher (Belvidere, Ill./Belvidere North), sophomore wide receiver Nick DeBenedetti (Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew) and sophomore defensive lineman Greg Hayward (Oak Lawn, Ill./Oak Lawn Community).

Saint Xavier (9-1 overall/4-1 MSFA) competes in the 2012 NAIA Football Championship Series First Round on Saturday, November 17, at Bruce R. Deaton Memorial Field in Chicago hosting No. 13 ranked William Penn University (Iowa).   The home postseason game is scheduled for a 12 p.m. start.