Senior Shane Zackery is one of just 147 college football players nationwide competing for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy
Senior Shane Zackery is one of just 147 college football players nationwide competing for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy
Football - Thu, Sep. 27, 2012

DALLAS – Saint Xavier University senior wide receiver Shane Zackery (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic) was one of just 147 collegiate football players nationwide selected by The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame for the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments®, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans in higher education.  The 147 nominees also comprise the list of semifinalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

"This year's candidates truly embody the National Football Foundation's mission of building leaders through football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively.  "They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities.  Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life."

Zackery is a business management, marketing and finance major at Saint Xavier University and carries a 3.709 cumulative grade-point average (GPA) on a 4.00 scale.  He currently ranks third nationally in the NAIA in receptions per game (8.3) and fourth overall in receiving yards per game (129.5 ypg).  In four games already this season, Zackery has racked up 518 yards on 33 catches with a team-leading six touchdowns.  He is also active around the local community volunteering his time at local community centers and taking part in various service projects.  Zackery is one of just nine NAIA football players to be named a semifinalist.

"This is an amazing honor and I feel blessed to be selected as a semifinalist for this prestigious award," said Zackery.  "I want to thank our Sports Information Director Rob Huizenga for nominating me.  When I saw the names of the previous winners like Peyton Manning and Tim Tebow, it really hit home how competitive the field for this award is and what an honor it is to be included in such a distinguished group of football players."

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.  

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 25.  Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy.  Each member of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored December 4 during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports.  One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy.

To list the entire list of semifinalists for the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards and learn more about these award, please click here