Seniors Marissa Young and Michael Prosser were named the 2011-12 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year
Seniors Marissa Young and Michael Prosser were named the 2011-12 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year
SXU - Mon, Apr. 23, 2012

CHICAGO - The Saint Xavier University Athletics Department held its 2012 SXU Student-Athlete Awards Banquet Monday evening at the Shannon Center to honor 72 student-athletes for their outstanding accomplishments in the classroom.  Student-athletes recognized have maintained at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average (GPA) through December 31, 2011, and each received either a bronze, silver or gold medallion as their award based on their respective GPA. In addition, seniors Marissa Young (Monroe, Wis./St. Joseph's College/Monroe) and Michael Prosser (Rockton, Ill./Rockton-Hononegah) were named the 2011-12 SXU Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year.  Young is majoring in pre-medicine and was a second team NAIA All-American as well as a first team honoree on the 2011-12 Capital One Academic All-America Team for the SXU women's basketball team.  Prosser is finishing up his major in business.  In addition to helping lead the Cougar football team to the University's first national championship, Prosser earned a first team spot on the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America College Division Football Team and was one of just 11 NAIA defensive players nationwide named to the 2011 American Football Coaches Association-NAIA Coaches' All-America Team.


Gold medals were awarded to student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.75 and 4.00 (on a 4.00 scale). Gold medal winners included:

Ashley August (Volleyball, Senior, LaGrange Park, Ill./Lyons), Alexandra Bahner (Softball, Freshman, Rochester Hills, Mich./Adams), JD Barchard (Football, Sophomore, Crystal Lake, Ill./Sioux Falls/Crystal Lake South), Suzie Broski (Women's Basketball, Freshman, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), David Gunst (Baseball, Freshman, New Palestine, Ind./New Palestine), Holly Hilden (Softball, Freshman, Belvidere, Ill./Belvidere North), Ludwig Icevski (Men's Basketball, Sophomore, Varberg, Sweden/Neuqua Valley), Joanna Janulis (Women's Soccer, Senior, Bolingbrook, Ill./Benet), Maloree Johnson (Women's Basketball, Freshman, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), Brittany Jones (Women's Basketball, Senior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Michael Klett (Baseball, Junior, Plainfield, Ill./Western Michigan/Plainfield North), Spencer Nolen (Football, Sophomore, Columbia, Tenn./University of Nevada/Columbia Central), Megan Nonnemacher (Softball, Sophomore, Bloomington, Ill./Normal Community), Michael Prosser (Football, Senior, Rockton, Ill./Rockton-Hononegah), Matt Rychel (Men's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Kelli Shaffer (Volleyball, Freshman, Heyworth, Ill./Heyworth), Ashley Shares (Women's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Palos Park, Ill./Moraine Valley CC/Stagg), Molly Sheehan (Women's Soccer, Sophomore, Orland Park, Ill./Stagg), Brian Studnicka (Football, Sophomore, Palos Hills, Ill./Stagg), Michelle Tourtillott (Women's Basketball, Senior, Park Ridge, Ill./Maine South), Jacek Wesolowski (Football, Freshman, Justice, Ill./Argo), Amanda Wessel (Women's Soccer, Senior, Metamora, Ill./Metamora) and Marissa Young (Women's Basketball, Senior, Monroe, Wis./St. Joseph's College/Monroe).

Silver medals were awarded to student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.50 and 3.74. Silver medal winners were:

Patrick Appino (Football, Senior, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), Mike Bushnell (Football, Junior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Alyssa Driscoll (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Marion, Iowa/Xavier), Daniel Hasty (Men's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Oak Lawn, Ill./Brother Rice), Ariel Hinton (Softball, Sophomore, Crawfordsville, Ind./Crawfordsville), Brad Karp (Men's Basketball, Freshman, Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso), Amanda Magee (Women's Cross Country & Track, Freshman, Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way North), Kate Mollohan (Softball, Junior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Kayla Mullaney (Volleyball, Junior, Elmhurst, Ill./York Community), Colleen O'Hara (Volleyball, Senior, Lemont, Ill./University of Iowa/Lemont), Mark Peters (Men's Basketball, Sophomore, Aurora, Ill./Marmion Academy), Maureen Riley (Women's Basketball, Junior, Alma, Mich./Sacred Heart Academy), Nancy Schueth (Women's Soccer, Senior, Lincoln, Neb./Saint Pius X), Erin Sebo (Volleyball, Senior, Downers Grove, Ill./St. Scholastica/Downers Grove North), Ashley Shugar (Women's Soccer, Senior, Lake Orion, Mich./Western Illinois University/Lake Orion), Adam Sieger (Men's Volleyball, Freshman, New Lenox, Ill./Lincoln-Way Central), Morgan Stuut (Women's Basketball, Freshman, Marcellus, Mich./Three Rivers) and Shane Zackery (Football, Junior, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic)

Bronze medals were awarded to Saint Xavier student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.25 and 3.49. Bronze medal winners included:

Desiree Aramburu (Volleyball, Junior, Chicago, Ill./Radford University/Mother McAuley), Christine Bowe (Volleyball, Junior, Downers Grove, Ill./Downers Grove South), Jim Boyce (Men's Volleyball, Freshman, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Amie Brown (Softball, Senior, Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Chase Catton (Football, Junior, Washington, Ill./Washington), Sara Cervenka (Women's Soccer, Junior, Sycamore, Ill./Northern Illinois University/Sycamore), Rachael Dean (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Lindenhurst, Ill./Judson University/Lakes), Nicole Derezinski (Softball, Senior, St. John, Ind./Andrean), Zach Dolph (Football, Sophomore, Crest Hill, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Joe Gill (Football, Sophomore, Munster, Ind./Western Illinois/Munster), Greg Hayward (Football, Freshman, Oak Lawn, Ill./Oak Lawn Community), Adriana Hughes (Softball, Senior, Shorewood, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Brandon Hummer (Men's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Willowbrook, Ill./Hinsdale South), Danielle Inzinga (Women's Soccer, Freshman, Orland Park, Ill./Marist), Larissa Jondle (Women's Soccer, Senior, Lincoln, Neb./Saint Pius X), Thomas Keating (Baseball, Sophomore, Chicago, Ill./Joliet Junior College/St. Laurence), Shane Kenney (Men's Cross Country & Track, Sophomore, Porter, Ind./Chesterton), Kelly Knudsen (Women's Volleyball, Junior, Oak Lawn, Ill./Oak Lawn Community), Nico Krajecki (Football, Sophomore, Chicago, Ill./Southern Illinois University/Fenwick), Shannon Lauret (Softball, Freshman, Beach Park, Ill./Zion-Benton), Jaclyn Major (Volleyball, Senior, Lockport, Ill./Lockport Township), Brandon Marren (Men's Basketball, Sophomore, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Brad Myjak (Baseball, Sophomore, Tinley Park, Ill./Mount Carmel), Ricky Olmedo (Men's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Blue Island, Ill./Calumet College/Eisenhower), Andy Peters (Men's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Yellow Springs, Ohio/Yellow Springs), AJ Pfatschbacher (Men's Soccer, Freshman, West Dundee, Ill./Jacobs), Cassie Pullia (Women's Soccer, Freshman, Homer Glen, Ill./Lockport Township), Ashley Sullivan (Softball, Junior, Lemont, Ill./UW-Parkside/Lemont), Scott Vachon (Baseball, Sophomore, Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield North), Bryan Villanova (Baseball, Freshman, Chicago, Ill./St. Laurence) and Alex Walters (Football, Freshman, Lisle, Ill./Montini).