Senior Xavier Torres was one of six SXU football student-athletes named to the NFF's Hampshire Honor Society
Senior Xavier Torres was one of six SXU football student-athletes named to the NFF's Hampshire Honor Society
Football - Wed, May 11, 2011

Dallas, Texas - Six Saint Xavier University student-athletes were recently named to the 2011 National Football Foundation's (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. The group is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play, who each maintained a 3.2 grade-point average (GPA) or better. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, showing a steady increase in membership each year since the inaugural class in 2007. The SXU selections included: Brian Casson (Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield South), Pat Garrity (Chicago, Ill./Brother Rice), Anthony Kropp (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), Drew Rogowski (Griffith, Ind./Griffith), Ryan Searls (Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic) and Xavier Torres (Chicago, Ill./Central Michigan University/Len Tech).

"In just the fifth year of this initiative, it gives the NFF great pride to honor so many qualified and accomplished collegiate players as members of this year's Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The number of players we are able to recognize has nearly doubled since the first year of the program, showing that you can play football at the highest level and still be a standout student."

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout entire course of undergraduate study and meeting all progress towards degree requirements and graduation. Saint Xavier University was one of just 57 institutions nationwide to have six or more student-athletes named to the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthening the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided an endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. Each of the 671 players awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating the achievement.