Senior Megan Paradzinski - 2010-11 SXU Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Senior Megan Paradzinski - 2010-11 SXU Female Student-Athlete of the Year
SXU - Mon, Apr. 25, 2011
CHICAGO - The Saint Xavier University Athletics Department held its 2011 SXU Student-Athlete Awards Banquet Monday night at the Shannon Center to honor 82 student-athletes for their outstanding accomplishments in the classroom. Student-athletes recognized had maintained at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average (GPA) through December 31, 2010, and each received either a bronze, silver or gold medallion as their award based on their respective GPA. In addition, seniors Megan Paradzinski (Munster, Ind./Munster) and Drew Rogowski (Griffith, Ind./Griffith) were named the 2010-11 SXU Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year. Paradzinski is majoring in social science and has been a four-year starter for the SXU softball team. Rogowski is finishing up his major in biology. This past fall, he was a Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete and was a Victory Sports Network Honorable Mention All-American.

Gold medals were awarded to student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.75 and 4.00 (on a 4.00 scale). Gold medal winners included:

Ashley August (Volleyball, Junior, LaGrange Park, Ill./Lyons), Rachael Dean (Women's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Lindenhurst, Ill./Judson University/Lakes), Lauren Dentzman (Women's Cross Country & Track, Graduate Student, Lemont, Ill./Lemont), Matthew Erickson (Baseball, Senior, Oak Lawn, Ill./Richards), Jordan Hamrick (Men's Soccer, Freshman, Lafayette, Ind./Lafayette Jefferson), Brittany Hannigan (Softball, Senior, Palos Hills, Ill./Stagg), Ludwig Icevski (Men's Basketball, Freshman, Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley), Joanna Janulis (Women's Soccer, Junior, Bolingbrook, Ill./Benet), Ben Johnson (Men's Soccer, Senior, Woodridge, Ill./Western Illinois/Naperville North), Brittany Jones (Women's Basketball, Junior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Amy Kennedy (Softball, Senior, Pontiac, Ill./Pontiac), Corey Lasky (Baseball, Freshman, Vernon Hills, Ill./Stevenson), Danielle Malloy (Volleyball, Senior, Tinley Park, Ill./Tinley Park), Brad Myjak (Baseball, Freshman, Tinley Park, Ill./Mount Carmel), Megan Nonnemacher (Softball, Freshman, Bloomington, Ill./Normal Community), Colleen O'Hara (Women's Volleyball, Sophomore, Lemont, Ill./University of Iowa/Lemont), Megan Paradzinski (Softball, Senior, Munster, Ind./Munster), Mike Prosser (Football, Junior, Rockton, Ill./Rockton-Hononegah), Jamie Reed (Softball, Sophomore, Lincoln, Neb./Saint Pius X), Drew Rogowski (Football, Senior, Griffith, Ind./Griffith), Barb Roman (Women's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), Matthew Rychel (Men's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Erin Sebo (Volleyball, Junior, Downers Grove, Ill./St. Scholastica/Downers Grove North), Ashley Shugar (Women's Soccer, Senior, Lake Orion, Mich./Western Illinois/Lake Orion), Brian Studnicka (Football, Freshman, Palos Hills, Ill./Stagg), Michelle Tourtillott (Women's Basketball, Junior, Park Ridge, Ill./Maine South), Amanda Wessel (Women's Soccer, Senior, Metamora, Ill./Metamora), Morgan West (Volleyball, Sophomore, Elkhart, Ind./Elkhart Central) and Marissa Young (Women's Basketball, Junior, Monroe, Wis./St. Joseph's (Ind.)/Monroe).

Silver medals were awarded to student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.50 and 3.74. Silver medal winners were:

Jonathan Atkins (Baseball, Sophomore, Kenosha, Wis./Kenosha Bradford), Patrick Appino (Football, Junior, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic), Alex Barone (Women's Basketball, Senior, Joliet, Ill./Marian Catholic), Jade Braden (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Rocky River, Ohio/Rocky River), Brian Casson (Football, Senior, Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield South), Zachary Dolph (Football, Freshman, Crest Hill, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Alyssa Driscoll (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Marion, Iowa/Xavier), Thomas Gbur, Football, Graduate Student, Darien, Ill./Hinsdale South), Patrick Geary (Football, Graduate Student, Mokena, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), Daniel Hasty (Men's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Oak Lawn, Ill./Brother Rice), Ariel Hinton (Softball, Freshman, Crawfordsville, Ind./Crawfordsville), Matt Lewis (Men's Volleyball, Freshman, Antioch, Ill./Lakes), Shane Liston (Football, Junior, Chicago, Ill./University of Dayton/Joliet Catholic), Kate Mollohan (Softball, Sophomore, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Kayla Mullaney (Volleyball, Sophomore, Elmhurst, Ill./York Community), Krista Olenek (Women's Track, Junior, Algonquin, Ill./Marian Central Catholic)Mark Peters (Men's Basketball, Freshman, Aurora, Ill./Marmion Academy), Maureen Riley (Women's Basketball, Sophomore, Alma, Mich./Sacred Heart Academy), Nancy Schueth (Women's Soccer, Junior, Lincoln, Neb./Saint Pius X), Ryan Searls (Football, Senior, Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Molly Sheehan (Women's Soccer, Freshman, Orland Park, Ill./Stagg), Kelly Steinhaus (Women's Soccer, Senior, Lemont, Ill./Lemont), Katy Thomson (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Matteson, Ill./Marian Catholic), Scott Vachon (Baseball, Freshman, Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield North) and Shane Zackery (Football, Sophomore, Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic)

Bronze medals were awarded to Saint Xavier student-athletes with cumulative grade-point averages between 3.25 and 3.49. Bronze medal winners included:

Kevin Berrigan (Football, Freshman, Oak Lawn, Ill./St. Rita), Alan Bickel (Men's Soccer, Senior, Aurora, Ill./Northern Illinois/Waubonsie Valley), Christine Bowe (Volleyball, Sophomore, Downers Grove, Ill./Downers Grove South), Mike Bushnell (Football, Sophomore, Tinley Park, Ill./Andrew), Chase Catton (Football, Sophomore, Washington, Ill./Washington), Sara Cervenka (Women's Soccer, Sophomore, Sycamore, Ill./Northern Illinois/Sycamore), Dan Cross (Men's Soccer, Senior, Gravesend, England/Axton Chase), Nicole Derezinski (Softball, Junior, St. John, Ind./Andrean), Jeff Dobie (Baseball, Senior, Glen Ellyn, Ill. Glenbard South), Lucas Fritsch (Baseball, Sophomore, Orland Park, Ill./Sandburg), Patrick Garrity (Football, Senior, Chicago, Ill./Brother Rice), Joseph Gill (Football, Freshman, Munster, Ind./Western Illinois/Munster), Lisa Gryczewski (Softball, Senior, Mokena, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), Nicholas Hastings (Men's Basketball, Junior, Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Brandon Hummer (Men's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Willowbrook, Ill./Hinsdale South), Larissa Jondle (Women's Soccer, Junior, Lincoln, Neb./Saint Pius X), Brad Karp (Men's Basketball, Freshman, Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso), Kelly Knudsen (Women's Volleyball, Sophomore, Oak Lawn, Ill./Oak Lawn Community), Anthony Kropp (Football, Graduate Student, Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), Kelly Malone (Women's Cross Country & Track, Senior, Oak Lawn, Ill./Mother McAuley), Andrew Peters (Men's Cross Country & Track, Junior, Yellow Springs, Ohio/Yellow Springs), Brett Ratajczak (Baseball, Junior, Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic), Chris Sarna (Men's Cross Country & Track, Freshman, Palos Park, Ill./Stagg), Brendan Sheehy (Football, Senior, Chicago, Ill./Brother Rice), Dana Sibley (Women's Basketball, Freshman, St. Charles, Ill./St. Charles North), Jacob Siska (Men's Volleyball, Freshman, Hometown, Ill./Oak Lawn Community), Romisha Taylor (Women's Basketball, Sophomore, Chicago, Ill./Von Stueben) and Izak Velasquez (Men's Cross Country & Track, Freshman, Cincinnati, Ohio/Oak Hills).