Senior Mike Maher - 2010 MSFA Mideast League Player of the Year
Senior Mike Maher - 2010 MSFA Mideast League Player of the Year
Football - Fri, Nov. 19, 2010

Findlay, Ohio - Highlighted by senior wide receiver Mike Maher (Plainfield, Ill./Providence Catholic) claiming the 2010 Player of the Year distinction, the No. 3 ranked Saint Xavier University had 17 members of its football team earn spots on the 2010 Mid-States Football Association (MSFA) All-Mideast League Team when the league office released the honors Friday morning. SXU had 10 first team selections, four second team honorees and three players earning honorable mention consideration. In addition, Mike Feminis was named the MSFA Mideast League Coach of the Year, while special teams coordinator/ linebackers coach Mike Slovick was named the MSFA Mideast League Assistant Coach of the Year.

"I am really happy for all of our guys who got recognized as well as for Coach Slovick who does a tremendous job with our special teams," said Feminis. "Mike Maher and Anthony Kropp were unanimously selected as the top two players in our league and it's too bad they couldn't give Co-Players of the Year. Mike may very well go down as the best player to ever play at SXU and I don't know where we would have been the last two years without Anthony. If you think about it, I doubt there are many quarterbacks at any level who have led their team to a 24-1 record in the last two years.

"I'm just very proud to have coached these two because they're great kids," continued Feminis. "You don't go 11-0 without great players and our program is pretty fortunate to have a lot of them. Plus, they also get the job done in the classroom."

In addition to Maher, the 10 first team selections for Saint Xavier included: senior quarterback Anthony Kropp (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), senior running back Donnie Selby (Alsip, Ill./Shepard), senior wide receiver Xavier Torres (Chicago, Ill./Central Michigan University/Lane Tech), senior linebacker Brendan Sheehy (Chicago, Ill./Brother Rice), senior defensive back Pat Geary (Mokena, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), senior defensive back Drew Rogowski (Griffith, Ind./Griffith), junior offensive lineman Michael Johnson (Harvey, Ill./Thornton), junior kicker Tom Lynch (Frankfort, Ill./Southern Illinois University/Joliet Junior College/Lincoln-Way East) and junior defensive end Michael Prosser (Rockton, Ill./Rockton-Hononegah). Maher was also named a first team return specialist on the 2010 All-MSFA Mideast League Team as well.

On the All-MSFA Mideast League Second Team, the Cougars had junior running back KJ Franklin (Crete, Ill./Crete-Monee) and junior offensive line Michael Brauer (Bolingbrook, Ill./Bolingbrook) on the offensive side. Saint Xavier defensive players earning second team honors included senior defensive tackle Colin Luczynski (Frankfort, Ill./Eastern Illinois University/Lincoln-Way East) and junior defensive tackle Patrick Appino (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic). Geary was also named a second team return specialist. The three honorable mention selections for the Cougars were all on the defensive side of the ball in junior defensive end Jimmy Sandling (Manteno, Ill./University of Indianapolis/Manteno), red-shirt freshman defensive back Jacob Ghinazzi (Rockford, Ill./Boylan Catholic) and red-shirt freshman linebacker Dave Marciano (Chicago, Ill./Eastern Illinois University/Brother Rice).

Saint Xavier is coming off its second straight perfect regular season (11-0) and MSFA Mideast League title and enters the 2010 NAIA Football Championship Series with the No. 3 seed. The Cougars host No. 20 University of the Cumberlands (Ky.) in first-round action on Saturday, November 20, at Bruce R. Deaton Memorial Field in Chicago. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m.