Women's Basketball - Sat, Mar. 6, 2010
Joliet, Ill. - The 2009-2010 All-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) Division I Women's Basketball Team is a near case of déjà vu with no less than six of the 11 cast members repeating the honor from a year ago with two others moving up from last year's honorable mention list and Saint Xavier University senior forward Erin Hannemann (Homer Glen, Ill./Providence Catholic) being selected as the league's player of the year again. Hannemann led the league in scoring (17.0 points per game) and field goal percentage (.600), while ranking second in rebounding (8.3 rpg) and blocked shots (1.6 per game). She was joined by senior guard Kathlyn McClain (Oak Forest, Ill./Converse College/Marian Catholic) and junior guards Alex Barone (Joliet, Ill./Marian Catholic) and Shalonda Young (Chicago, Ill./Crane Tech) on the all-conference team, along with head coach Bob Hallberg, who was named CCAC Coach of the Year for the fifth straight year. Barone and McClain were also on the team a year ago, while Young was an honorable mention choice in 2008-09.

McClain averaged 15.1 points a game this season for the Cougars, while Young tallied 10.2 points and 6.8 rebounds. Barone also averaged double figures in scoring at 10.1 points a game to go along with her 4.6 assists per game average, good enough for No. 2 overall in the conference. Also repeating on the league's top squad this winter are Indiana University South Bend's Katie Hacker, Robert Morris University's Jessica Harris and University of St. Francis' Jacqie Storm. Robert Morris' Jerita Gordon moved from honorable mention status to the all-league team in 2009-2010 averaging 16.1 points per game and a CCAC-best 9.0 rebounds per contest. Rounding out the all-conference team were Olivet Nazarene University's Jamie Buckman and Simone Coburn and St. Francis' Anna Sears. Holy Cross College's Baysia Cox and Robert Morris' Niara Harris shared the league's freshman of the year honors.

Saint Xavier (29-1 overall) earned the CCAC's automatic bid and now awaits its seed and pairing for the upcoming 2010 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball National Championship, which begins on Wednesday, March 17. The pairings for the tournament are scheduled to be released by College Fanz Sports Network on Wednesday, March 10, at 3:30 p.m. on its website at www.collegefanz.com.

To see the 2009-10 All-CCAC Team in its entirety, please click here