Men's Basketball - Tue, Mar. 11, 2008
Joliet, Ill. - The Saint Xavier University men's basketball team got some good news as it waits to hear whether or not it will receive an at-large bid for this year's NAIA Men's Basketball National Championships in Kansas City, Mo. The Cougars had four of its players named to the 2008 All-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) Division I Men's Basketball Team. Sophomore guard Julian Scott (Country Club Hills, Ill./Hillcrest) and junior forward Adam Gregoriou (Burbank, Ill./Brother Rice) garnered All-CCAC First Team honors, while senior forward Dan Bolger (Chicago, Ill./Saint Patrick) and senior guard Alok Aiyar (Hanover Park, Ill./UIC/Bartlett) both earned honorable mention recognition.

Scott has led SXU in nearly every statistical category this season, including points per game (14.9 ppg), rebounds per game (6.1 rpg), and assists per game (4.4 apg). Over 30 games this season, Scott has shot an impressive 53 percent (159-for-300) from the field. Gregoriou is second on the team in scoring averaging 12.7 points per game, while also finishing with the team's second highest rebound total of 149 (5.3 rpg). Gregoriou is also shooting 55.2 percent (137-for-248) from the field this year. Both players are making their second career appearances on the All-CCAC First Team after both earned the same recognition following the 2006-07 season.

Bolger provided a huge lift for the Cougars this season averaging 9.0 points and 5.8 rebounds over 24 games. He also shot a team-best 55.5 percent (86-for-155) from the field. Aiyar has had a big senior campaign as well averaging 11.7 points, 2.9 rebounds, and team-high 2.3 steals over 30 games this season. He is also the team's best three-point shooter hitting a team-best 73 treys at a 41.7 percent clip (73-for-175). Bolger is making his second career appearance on the All-CCAC Honorable Mention Team.

Saint Xavier (24-8 overall/7-3 CCAC) now awaits an at-large bid to participate in the 2008 NAIA Men's Basketball National Championships, which begin on Wednesday, March 19, in Kansas City, Mo. The NAIA will officially announce qualifiers for this year's tournament on Wednesday, March 12.