Football - Mon, Nov. 19, 2007
Findlay, Ohio - With three of its players earning first team recognition, the No. 10 ranked Saint Xavier University football team recently learned that 15 of its members earned spots on the 2007 Mid-States Football Association (MSFA) All-Mideast Football Team when the league office released the honors late last week. SXU had three first team selections, eight second team honorees, and four players earning honorable mention consideration. In addition, SXU defensive coordinator Werner Emmrich was named the MSFA Mideast League Assistant Coach of the Year.

The three first team selections for Saint Xavier included: senior left tackle Matt Renfro (Rockford, Ill./Boylan), senior kicker/punter Shane Longest (Wilmington, Ill./Wilmington), and senior linebacker Sean Kenney (Orland Park, Ill./Stagg). Renfro has helped anchor an offensive line that has allowed just 10 sacks over the team's first 12 games and helped produce a total offense that averages 428.7 yards per game. Longest has been a weapon for the Cougars all season making a school-record 27 field goals, 46 of 47 extra-points, and team-leading 127 points. He has also averaged 43.3 yards per punt on the year with 13 of his 44 punts landing inside the opponent's 20-yard line. Kenney has 100 total tackles, including 56 solos and 10 tackles for losses, over 11 games in 2007. He has helped lead a tough SXU defense that has allowed just 80.4 rushing yards per game.

On the All-MSFA Mideast League Second Team, the Cougars had junior quarterback Billy Yeo (Matteson, Ill./Western Michigan/Rich South), senior wide receiver Jim Doherty (Evergreen Park, Ill./Evergreen Park), sophomore wide receiver Bill McKeon (Joliet, Ill./Joliet Catholic), junior tight end Andy Lietz (Blue Island, Ill./Marian Catholic), junior center Kevin Zientek (Oak Lawn, Ill./Marist), and offensive lineman Eric Schreiber (Oak Lawn, Ill./Richards) on the offensive side. Saint Xavier defensive players earning second team honors included junior linebacker Joe Miller (Chicago, Ill./Gordon Tech) and junior defensive back Chris Rodgers (Homewood, Ill./Homewood-Flossmoor). Honorable mention selections for the Cougars were: freshman wide receiver Mike Maher (Plainfield, Ill./Providence Catholic), senior defensive lineman Justin Tuffs (Mokena, Ill./Stagg), senior defensive end Brett Farmer (Wilmington, Ill./Joliet Junior College), and junior defensive end Scott Kooistra (Chicago, Ill./Shepard).

Saint Xavier has earned its third straight trip to the NAIA Championship Series and will take on No. 1 ranked University of Sioux Falls (S.D.) in NAIA quarterfinals action at 12 p.m. CST on Saturday, November 24, at Bob Young Field in Sioux Falls, S.D. It is the fourth postseason appearance for the Cougars in the 15-year history of the program and the second consecutive year the team has qualified for the NAIA quarterfinals (top eight teams).