Football - Wed, Jan. 31, 2007
Olathe, Kan. - Saint Xavier University senior linebacker Sean Kenney (Palos Hills, Ill./Stagg), senior defensive back Tom Regnier (Manteno, Ill./Bishop McNamara), and senior offensive lineman Chris Trino (New Lenox, Ill./Joliet Junior College) were all recently named 2006 Daktronics-NAIA Football Scholar Athletes when the honors were released by the national office in Olathe, Kan. In addition, 10 members of the 2006 SXU football team were named to the 2006 Mid-States Football Association (MSFA) All-Academic Team for their performance in the classroom.

To qualify for Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition, a student-athlete must be at least a junior in academic standing, spent at least one full year at the nominating institution, and have at least a 3.50 grade-point average or above (on a 4.0 scale). Kenney is pursuing a business degree at Saint Xavier. Regnier is majoring in English, while Trino is wrapping up a degree in history.

To qualify for the MSFA All-Academic Team, a student-athlete needs to be at least a junior in academic standing and possess a 3.2 or higher grade-point average. Representing the Cougars on the MSFA All-Academic Team were junior quarterback Billy Yeo (Matteson, Ill./Western Michigan University), senior running back Luke Schillo (Evergreen Park, Ill./Evergreen Park), senior defensive lineman Jim Jenks (Lyons, Ill./Eastern Illinois University), junior defensive lineman Scott Kooistra (Chicago, Ill./Shepard), senior wide receiver Greg Gerritsen (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), junior defensive lineman Jake Gray (Burbank, Ill./Reavis), and junior linebacker Steve Lanners (Midlothian, Ill./Tinley Park) in addition to Kenney, Regnier, and Trino.

Saint Xavier had an impressive 2006 campaign finishing with a 10-3 overall record and ranked No. 9 nationally and qualified for the NAIA Championship Series for only the third time in the program's 14-year history. SXU advanced all the way to the semi-finals falling to No. 1 ranked University of Saint Francis (Ind.) on December 2, 2006, marking the first time ever that Saint Xavier has moved past the first round in postseason play.